Go back



On December 13, at 19:00 cinema Splendid Palace will offer a live broadcast of European Academy Awards Ceremony from Latvian National Opera, bringing together European film-makers, European Film Academy members, guests, nominees and winners to honour the best European cinematographic works. Live broadcast is supported by Lattelecom.

The festive event will be opened by Wim Wenders, the President of the European Film Academy, and by Agnieszka Holland, Chairperson of the European Film Academy.

European Academy Awards in 21 category will be presented by actresses Ada Condeescu (Romania), Sylvia Hoeks (Netherlands), Carla Juri (Switzerland), Rēzija Kalniņa (Latvia), Ariane Labed (France), and Tanja Ribič (Slovenia), and their colleagues Barry Atsma (Netherlands), Andrzej Chyra (Poland), Nikolaj Coster-Waldau (Denmark), Branko Đurić (Bosnia and Herzegovina), Tobias Moretti (Austria), Luca Zingaretti (Italy), Gustavs Terzens and Marta Selecka, and legendary actress/ director Liv Ullmann (Norway).

Representatives of the nominated films will also take part in the ceremony: actor Johannes Kuhnke (Sweden), actress Melisa Sözen (Turkey), cameramen Mikhail Krichman (Russia), and Łukasz Ża (Poland), as well as Special Prize Jury Members Halfdan E, composer, (Denmark), Luís Galvão Teles, director/producer, (Portugal), Michael O’Connor, costume designer (United Kingdom), Allan Starski, artistic designer (Poland), Asaf Sudry, cameraman, (Israel), and Peter Warnier, sound editor (Netherlands).

Steve McQueen will be honoured with the prize Outstanding European Achievement in World, Agnes Varda will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award, and Ed Guiney - European Co-Production Award Prix EURIMAGE”. The ceremony will also be attended by the Ministers of Culture:  Josef Ostermayer (Austria), Urve Tiidus (Estonia), Dace Melbārde (Latvia), Šarūnas Birutis (Lithuania), Małgorzata Omilanowska (Poland), and Memli Krasniqi (Kosovo).



– Print document